TAPG Awards: Mark Ames Scholarship & Heart of Adventure Therapy

Heart of Adventure Therapy Award
The Heart of Adventure Therapy Award is given yearly to either an organization or an individual who embodies the heart of adventure therapy! The purpose of the award is to honor an individual, organization or program that provides exemplary adventure therapy services. This individual or organization should exhibit the mission and vision of the Association for Experiential Education, and should also employ TAPG’s Best Practices. TAPG members will nominate agencies they feel are deserving of the award and TAPG Leadership Council members will vote on this award. Nominations will be solicited in January each year from the Leadership Council.

Heart of Adventure Therapy Award Winners

2020 Kim Sacksteder
2019 Gary Stauffer
2018 Maurie Lung
2017 Andrea Knepper
2016 Fred Borroel and Michael Gass
2015 Adventure Works 
2014 Red Top Meadows


Mark Ames Scholarship 
TAPG awards the Mark Ames Memorial Scholarship to provide an opportunity to attend TAPG's Pre-Conference workshop to an individual who otherwise could not afford to attend. 

In addition, many TAPG members have been presented with national AEE awards. Please take a look at the list, and if you do not see someone's name there that should be, consider nominating someone for this year!


New to Adventure Therapy?  Apply for the Mark Ames Award



Deadline: July 2, 2021



Mark Ames was a model leader and community member to the Therapeutic Adventure Professional Group (TAPG) of AEE. He contributed much in his time with us, bringing the true heart of Adventure Therapy work to our personal and professional development efforts. This year, the award is being offered to support an attendee to the TAPG Best Practices event that will be held in Park City, UT, from August 23rd-25th, 2021. This scholarship covers one complete registration fee for the TAPG Best Practices Conference 2021. Accommodations, food and transportation are the responsibility of the recipient.



Fill out the application HERE completely. Application must be submitted by July 2nd, 2021. Please keep answers to questions limited to 350 words.


Michael Stratton Practitioner of the Year Award

2019 Bobbi Beale 
2015 Kim Sacksteder
2014 Tony Alvarez
2008 Gary Stauffer
2007 Denise Mitten
2005 Jim Schoel
2000 Lee Gillis
View more


Outstanding Experiential Teacher
1998 Mike Gass
1997 Christian Bisson 

Servant Leader
2014 Christine Norton
2012 Anita Tucker
2011 Terry Williams

2008 Sandy Newes, Dennis Call
2007 Bobbi Beale
2005 Scott Bandoroff
2004 Christian Itin

Organizational Member of the Year
2014 Camp Mary Orton

2008 Santa Fe Mountain Center
2006 Georgia College and State University
2005 Omni Youth Services
2003 The University of New Hampshire Outdoor Education Program
1997 Project Adventure

Karl Rohnke Creativity Award
2015 Gary Stauffer

2011 Maurie Lung
2010 Kim Wasserburger

Distinguished Researcher Award
2015 Denise Mitten

2012 H. "Lee" Gillis
2011 Mike Gass
2010 Keith Russell