Therapeutic Adventure Professional Group

Welcome en Francais y Espanol Translation by Bart Steck, Volunteer

This website is an evolving statement by AEE's Therapeutic Adventure Professionals Group (TAPG) aimed at describing our professional group. It is an effort to bring about an open forum for discussion and learning that is representative of this field of practice. We invite a broad range of readers including practitioners, insurance companies, government monitors, other professional organizations, students, teachers, consumers, and the general public.We do not assume that our thoughts are inclusive of every application of adventure therapy across the world or even within the United States.

The Therapeutic Adventure Professional Group is committed to the development and promotion of adventure-based programming and the principles of experiential education in therapeutic settings. We are also committed to the professional development of our members and the profession as a whole.

Statement of Purpose
Therapeutic Adventure is the professional group for those AEE members who work within the fields of health, mental health, corrections, education, and other human service fields. Our primary purpose is to facilitate networking for professionals within our various fields and share information, techniques, and concerns regarding the therapeutic use of adventure. We define therapeutic as moving toward healthy change with intentional interventions. We represent the interests of our membership to the Board and larger professional communities through workshops, conference and pre-conference activities, and best practices development.

TAPG Awards: Mark Ames Scholarship & Heart of Adventure Therapy

Adventure Therapy Best Practices



10/27-11/11, 2020


Registration will stay open through October 31, 2021. Registrants will have access to the live events below as well as the On-Demand Library that will have recordings of the live events and other resources until October 31, 2021.

Fee: $35 (includes access to ALL FIVE live sessions, including the opening and closing circles, and the on-demand recording library where you can watch recordings 24/7 until October 31, 2021)  

 Leadership Council

The Leadership Council structure affords the most representation of membership possible, supporting the membership and mission and purpose of TAPG. The Council coordinates activities and provides direction for the professional group. Leadership Council members serve for a term of 3 years. The Council currently has the following positions:


Tuesdey Spangler MSW, LISW, LCSW 
Home Remedy & Outdoor Connection and Counseling Private Practice Clinician 
Columbus, OH
Pronouns: She, Her, Hers  
"Get Lost in Nature and You will Find Yourself".
Professional Development
Alex White, MS, CMHC​
Clinical Mental Health Counselor, University of Utah; Adjunct Professor, Westminster College 
Salt Lake City, Utah
Pronouns: he / his / him
"There exists within everyone a grand passion, an outlandish thirst for adventure, a desire to live boldly and vividly through the journey of life."–Kurt Hahn
Morgan Decker, MSW, LCSW
Marshwood High School
School Social Worker & Impact Facilitator
Pronouns: she/her/hers

"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Publications and Communications Coordinator
Kim Hinzy, MSW, LSW
Clinician & Associate Director at Adventure Works 
DeKalb, IL 
Pronouns: She, Her, Hers
"Maybe you are searching among branches for what only appears in the roots." -Rumi
Conference Coordinator
Christy Brock, MSW, LISW-S
Founder and Executive director at New Adventures Counseling
Cincinnati, OH 
Pronouns: She, Her, Hers
“There is freedom waiting for you, on the breezes of the sky. And you ask ‘What if I fall?’ Oh, but my darling, what if you fly?” ~Erin Hanson
Past-Chair & Member at Large
Beth Sandman MSW LISW-S
Senior Adventure Therapy Clinician, The Buckeye Ranch
Central Ohio
Pronouns: she/her/hers
“You can have anything you want in the world- once you help everyone around you get what they want”.  - Bob Ross
Anita R. Tucker, PhD, LICSW
Professor, University of New Hampshire, Department of Social Work Outdoor Behavioral Healthcare Center, Assoc. Director
York, ME
Pronouns: She, Her, Hers
“No significant learning occurs without a significant relationship” -
Dr. James Comer
Johanna J Ancheta, LLMSW
Social Work Professional 
"the voice of the Great Spirit is heard in the twittering of birds, the rippling of mighty waters, and the sweet breathing of flowers." - Zitkala-Sa





Find us on