2024 Heartland Regional Conference

Thursday, March 28, 2024
to Saturday, March 30, 2024

Southern Illinois University, Touch of Nature Center

1206 Touch of Nature Road Makanda, IL 62958-3227 United States
Category: Regional Conferences & Events

The 2024 Heartland Regional Conference

March 28-30, 2024 at Touch of Nature Outdoor Education Center

Southern Illinois University, Makanda, IL



About the Conference

Experiential and project based learning is one of the most effective and engaging forms of education. We know this because we are out there, we see the outcomes first hand; but how do we tell our story. From adventure therapy to k-12 educators, we as experiential educators are producing innovative methods to reach our students and clients, now it’s time to tell our story. Let’s help one another raise the bar so that we collectively can raise the bar of our field. Let’s come together and talk about how we are building a bigger point and bringing experiential learning to people and places outside of our AEE community. Help us tell the story of you, your work, and our field. Join us at beautiful Touch of Nature Outdoor Education Center at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. 

Thursday, 3/28: 

9:00AM-4:00PM: Pre-Conference Workshop: Challenge Course Universal Accessibility (not-included in conference registration) 

5:00PM-9:00PM: Registration Open

7:00PM-9:00PM: Evening Social 

Friday 3/29: 

8:00AM-8:45AM: Breakfast

9:00AM-9:45AM: Opening

10:00AM-10:45AM: Workshop 1

11:00AM-11:45AM: Workshop 2 

12:00PM-12:45PM: Lunch 

1:00-1:45PM: Keynote

2:00-2:45 Workshop 3

3:00-5:00 Open Play or Free Time 

5:30PM-6:15PM Dinner

6:30PM-7:30PM ActivatEE - What's Your Story? 

7:30-9:30 Evening Social 

Saturday 3/30: 

8:00AM-8:45: Continental Style Breakfast 

9:00AM-10:00AM: Get Connected! Learn More about Getting Involved in the AEE Heartland Region

10:00AM-12:00PM: Check-Out

attendees smiling and participating in workshops

The Heartland Region includes the following states and provinces: Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan.