Distinguished Researcher Award

Research continues to assume a growing level of importance in both the academic and applied contexts. This award provides a declaration of the value of that enterprise and recognizes the role that long-term and productive research efforts provide our fields. (“Nothing is more useful than a good theory.” Kurt Lewin)

This award requires a minimum of ten years involvement and is intended to provide recognition of exemplary research productivity and visibility in the fields of Experiential Education.

2019 Recipient: Tonia Gray


  • Must be a current member of AEE
  • Importance of research contributions
  • Continuity of research involvement
  • Diversity of publication and presentation outlets particularly those that are refereed
  • Creative and innovative impacts to research within the experiential education community
  • Presence of awards, keynotes, grants, etc. that speak to a research presence

Past Recipients:

2018 - Jayson Seaman
2017 - Christine Norton and Jim Sibthorp
2016 - Anita Tucker
2015 - Denise Mitten
2014 - no award given

2013 - Alan Ewert
2012 - H. "Lee" Gillis
2011 - Mike Gass
2010 - Keith Russell