AEE Southeast Region 

The 2021 Southeast Regional Conference

February 19-20 / Virtual

Thank You for Joining Us!
Reimagining Experiential Education

Experiential educators are no stranger to uncertainty and change. We frequently ask our participants to step outside of their comfort zones and take on new ventures while challenging assumptions in the name of self-discovery. Difficult and adverse times such as the ones we are now facing, also offer wonderful opportunities for reflection and renewal as we reimagine new methods of achieving the mission of experiential education.  As such, the AEE Southeast 2021 conference theme is Reimagining Experiential Education. How have our programs, classrooms, offices, and outdoor spaces changed? What assumptions have been challenged about navigating life? How might we adapt and thrive as we move forward? 

Thank you for your dedication to experiential education!

~Southeast Regional Council and Conference Committee

Thank you to our Sponsors!

About AEE

About the SE Region

Your Southeast 2021 Council and Conference Committee

To contact us, email [email protected] or send us a Facebook message! 

Michael Misenheimer, Eric Starkweather, Callie Auman, TJ Beezley, Deidra Goodwin, Sara McDaniel 

State Ambassador Coordinator: Brad Daniel 

State Ambassadors: Bo Wolfe (AL), Liz Speelman & Victor Morales (GA), Nic Caswell (KY), Meghan DeWitt (NC), John Talaber (SC), Terry Silver (TN) 

Workshops: Daniel Cape, Josh Orphanidys, Renee Roark, David Rogers (To contact us, email [email protected])

The Southeast Region includes the following states:

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Our Professional Association: Association for Experiential Education (AEE)

Vision: We believe learning through experience positively transforms people and our world.
Mission: AEE promotes and expands the global capacity of experiential learning.

AEE is a nonprofit professional membership association organized to bring people together from around the globe to celebrate experiential learning. It is divided into 8 different regions spanning the United States. 

AEE offers a variety of services to help expand and enrich the experiential education community, including regional and annual conferences, defining professional standards, providing accreditation to organizations, and presenting the latest news and research through AEE E-news and the Journal of Experiential EducationLearn more about us here.

Rebecca L. Carver ABC's Award
Rebecca Carver was a dedicated and passionate experiential educator. She lost her life to cancer at a very young age but her passion for experiential learning lives on in the students she inspired during her life. Rebecca's work introduced the concept of the ABC's of Experiential Education. Rebecca viewed inspiring Agency, Belonging, and Competence as critical dimensions of the work of experiential educators. 

View more about this award!

Agency - represents the developing of students' personal agency - allowing individuals to become more powerful change agents in their lives and communities; increasing individuals' recognition and appreciation of the extent to which the locus of control for their lives is within themselves, and enabling them to use this as a source of power to generate activity.

Belonging - refers to developing and maintaining a community in which individuals share a sense of belonging - see themselves as members with rights and responsibilities, power and vulnerability; and learn to act responsibly, considering the best interests of themselves, other individuals and the group as a whole.

Competence - refers to the development of individual competence in a wide variety of areas (cognitive, physical, musical, social, etc.). Developing competence means learning skills, acquiring knowledge and attaining the ability to apply what is learned.
The Rebecca L. Carver Award is presented to an individual who actively promotes Agency, Belonging and Competence through her/his work in Experiential Education.

Connect with the Southeast Region on Facebook!

2020 SE Region Conference: Experiential Education for All

Hendersonville, NC
February 28-March 1, 2020
2019 Southeast Regional Conference!
Check out the 2019 conference recap HERE